Nursing home in Hempstead, Nassau County
Nassau Rehabilitation & Nursing Center
One Greenwich Street, Hempstead, NY 11550 · (516) 565-4800
1 federal penalty on record · $16,153 in fines
1 immediate jeopardy citation
Nassau Rehabilitation & Nursing Center is a 280-bed nursing home at One Greenwich Street, Hempstead, NY 11550. Federal data associate it with the Excelsior Care Group of facilities. Medicare rates the facility 3 out of 5 stars overall and 2 of 5 on staffing. In May 2025, a complaint investigation produced an "immediate jeopardy" citation for failing to provide food prepared in a form designed to meet a resident's individual needs, a requirement that commonly concerns texture-modified diets for residents at risk of choking. Separately, the federal government imposed a $16,153 fine following an April 2025 inspection.
Medicare star ratings
Overall Medicare rating
3 / 5
Medicare's summary rating combining inspections, staffing and quality measures.
Health inspection rating
3 / 5
Based on findings from state health inspections and complaint investigations.
Staffing rating
2 / 5
Based on reported nurse and aide staffing hours per resident.
Quality measures rating
4 / 5
Based on resident outcomes such as falls, pressure ulcers and hospitalizations.
Staffing
- Total nurse hours per resident per day
- 3.11
- RN hours per resident per day
- 0.27
- Nursing staff turnover
- 13.6%
- RN turnover
- 11.1%
Staffing hours are self-reported payroll data published by CMS. Ask the facility about current staffing, including weekends.
Facility facts
- Address
- One Greenwich Street, Hempstead, NY 11550
- County
- Nassau
- Phone
- (516) 565-4800
- Certified beds
- 280
- Average residents per day
- 280
- Ownership type
- For profit - Limited Liability company
- Legal business name
- Nassau Operating Company LLC
- Chain affiliation
- Excelsior Care Group (33 facilities)
- In Medicare/Medicaid since
- 1995
- CMS Certification Number (CCN)
- 335787
- Most recent standard inspection
- April 28, 2025
Location and getting there
Nassau Rehabilitation & Nursing Center is located at One Greenwich Street in Hempstead, Nassau County, on Long Island (ZIP 11550). The nearest Long Island Rail Road station is Hempstead on the Hempstead Branch, about 0.3 miles away. The nearest hospital is Mercy Hospital, about 1.5 miles away. Distances are straight-line estimates; confirm travel routes before visiting.
Open in Google MapsInspection record
- Inspections on record
- 4
- Total health citations
- 14
- Serious citations (harm or immediate jeopardy)
- 1
- Immediate jeopardy citations
- 1
Serious citations
Citations where inspectors found actual harm to a resident or immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety; most recent May 8, 2025.
| Date | Federal tag | What inspectors cited | Severity | Complaint? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 8, 2025 | F0805 | Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs | Immediate jeopardy (isolated) | Yes |
Inspection history
| Inspection date | Type | Citations | Most serious finding | Official report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 8, 2025 | Complaint investigation | 1 | Immediate jeopardy (isolated) | View CMS report |
| April 28, 2025 | Standard health inspection | 5 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
| January 23, 2024 | Standard health inspection | 4 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
| December 21, 2021 | Standard health inspection | 4 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
Federal penalties
- Federal penalties
- 1
- Fines
- 1
- Total fines
- $16,153
- Payment denials
- 0
- Most recent penalty
- April 28, 2025
| Date | Penalty | Amount / Duration |
|---|---|---|
| April 28, 2025 | Civil money penalty | $16,153 |
Penalty data last updated September 1, 2026.
Complaints to the New York State Department of Health
- Complaints received
- 56
- Complaints per 100 beds
- 20.5
- Statewide average per 100 beds
- 57.1
- On-site complaint inspections
- 13
NYS DOH complaint data through July 31, 2026.
Owners and managers reported to CMS
| Name | Role reported to CMS |
|---|---|
| Estate of Mayer Rispler | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| George Klein Testamentary Trust | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Aaron Becher | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| David Bloom | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Sandra Busell | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Alan Chopp | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Esther Farkowitz | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 7% (since 02/01/2016); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 01/01/2025) |
| Larry Klein | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Joel Leifer | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 43% (since 01/01/2025); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 01/01/2025) |
| Chana Lerner | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Shelly Nakdimen | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Bent Philipson | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Teresa Pocchia | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Theodore Pollak | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Michael Schwartz | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Brucha Singer | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Ronald Stern | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Naomi Tessler | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Excelsior Care Group | Indirect ownership interest (since 07/21/2019); Operational/managerial control (since 07/12/2019); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 12/09/2025) |
| Mayer Fischel | Governing body (since 02/01/2016); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 01/01/2025) |
| Aleem Ali | Operational/managerial control (since 10/01/2022); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 10/01/2022) |
| Henny Awendstern | Operational/managerial control (since 07/28/2014); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 07/28/2014) |
| Jacob Blobstein | Operational/managerial control (since 03/31/2022); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 03/31/2022) |
| Isaac Hersh | Operational/managerial control (since 07/22/2019); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 07/22/2019) |
| Moshe Steinberg | Operational/managerial control (since 07/12/2019); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 07/12/2019) |
Official reports and records
These links open official and independent records for CCN 335787. Read several inspections, not only the most recent, to see whether problems repeat.