Nursing home in St James, Suffolk County
St. James Rehabilitation & Healthcare Center
275 Moriches Road, St James, NY 11780 · (631) 862-8000
St. James Rehabilitation & Healthcare Center is a 230-bed nursing home at 275 Moriches Road, St James, NY 11780. Federal data list it as part of CareRite Centers (34 facilities). Medicare rates the facility 4 out of 5 stars overall and 2 of 5 on staffing. No actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy citations appear in current federal data.
Medicare star ratings
Overall Medicare rating
4 / 5
Medicare's summary rating combining inspections, staffing and quality measures.
Health inspection rating
3 / 5
Based on findings from state health inspections and complaint investigations.
Staffing rating
2 / 5
Based on reported nurse and aide staffing hours per resident.
Quality measures rating
5 / 5
Based on resident outcomes such as falls, pressure ulcers and hospitalizations.
Staffing
- Total nurse hours per resident per day
- 3.25
- RN hours per resident per day
- 0.53
- Nursing staff turnover
- 29.7%
- RN turnover
- 33.3%
Staffing hours are self-reported payroll data published by CMS. Ask the facility about current staffing, including weekends.
Facility facts
- Address
- 275 Moriches Road, St James, NY 11780
- County
- Suffolk
- Phone
- (631) 862-8000
- Certified beds
- 230
- Average residents per day
- 224
- Ownership type
- For profit - Limited Liability company
- Legal business name
- St James Operating LLC
- Chain affiliation
- CareRite Centers (34 facilities)
- In Medicare/Medicaid since
- 1970
- CMS Certification Number (CCN)
- 335301
- Most recent standard inspection
- December 9, 2025
Location and getting there
St. James Rehabilitation & Healthcare Center is located at 275 Moriches Road in St James, Suffolk County, on Long Island (ZIP 11780). The nearest Long Island Rail Road station is St. James on the Port Jefferson Branch, about 0.9 miles away. The nearest hospital is Stony Brook University Hospital, about 2.5 miles away. Distances are straight-line estimates; confirm travel routes before visiting.
Open in Google MapsInspection record
- Inspections on record
- 3
- Total health citations
- 15
- Serious citations (harm or immediate jeopardy)
- 0
- Immediate jeopardy citations
- 0
Serious citations
Citations where inspectors found actual harm to a resident or immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety.
No actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy citations appear in current federal data.
Inspection history
| Inspection date | Type | Citations | Most serious finding | Official report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 9, 2025 | Standard health inspection | 9 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
| May 9, 2024 | Standard health inspection | 4 | Potential for harm (pattern) | View CMS report |
| June 27, 2022 | Standard health inspection | 2 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
Federal penalties
No federal fines or payment denials are listed for this facility in the CMS penalty data we compiled. Penalties are only one indicator; review the inspection reports below for cited deficiencies.
Complaints to the New York State Department of Health
- Complaints received
- 41
- Complaints per 100 beds
- 18.5
- Statewide average per 100 beds
- 57.1
- On-site complaint inspections
- 18
NYS DOH complaint data through July 31, 2026.
Owners and managers reported to CMS
| Name | Role reported to CMS |
|---|---|
| Sharon Einhorn | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 25% (since 09/01/2012); Governing body (since 09/01/2012) |
| Devorah Friedman | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 25% (since 09/01/2012); Governing body (since 09/01/2012) |
| Elliot Goldberger | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Meryl Maybruch | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 8% (since 09/01/2012); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 09/01/2012) |
| Dov Minser | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Israel Minzer | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 8% (since 09/01/2012); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 09/01/2012) |
| Naftali Minzer | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Akiva Rudner | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Steven Sax | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Ernest Schlesinger | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 10% (since 09/01/2012); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 09/01/2012) |
| Aaron Schlosser | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Rivka Sussman | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Harold Weinstein | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 09/01/2012) |
| Richard Gold | Operational/managerial control (since 07/01/2018); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 07/01/2018) |
| Nicole Michel | Operational/managerial control (since 02/14/2009); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 02/14/2009) |
| Cristen Wei | Operational/managerial control (since 05/15/2006); Administrator/director of the SNF (since 05/15/2006) |
Official reports and records
These links open official and independent records for CCN 335301. Read several inspections, not only the most recent, to see whether problems repeat.