Nursing home in Bronx, Bronx County
Throgs Neck Rehabilitation & Nursing Center
707 Throgs Neck Expressway, Bronx, NY 10465 · (718) 430-0003
Throgs Neck Rehabilitation & Nursing Center is a for-profit nursing home with 205 certified beds in Throgs Neck/Schuylerville, the Bronx. It is one of 44 certified nursing homes in Bronx County. Medicare rates it 3 out of 5 stars overall (3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures). That overall rating is below the Bronx County average of 3.5 stars. Inspectors issued 16 health citations across 5 inspections in the current federal reporting period. CMS lists no federal fines or payment denials for the facility in the past three years. Residents receive about 2.9 hours of total nursing care per day on average.
Medicare star ratings
Overall Medicare rating
3 / 5
Medicare's summary rating combining inspections, staffing and quality measures.
Health inspection rating
3 / 5
Based on findings from state health inspections and complaint investigations.
Staffing rating
1 / 5
Based on reported nurse and aide staffing hours per resident.
Quality measures rating
5 / 5
Based on resident outcomes such as falls, pressure ulcers and hospitalizations.
Staffing
- Total nurse hours per resident per day
- 2.91
- RN hours per resident per day
- 0.50
Staffing hours are self-reported payroll data published by CMS. Ask the facility about current staffing, including weekends.
Facility facts
- Address
- 707 Throgs Neck Expressway, Bronx, NY 10465
- County
- Bronx
- Phone
- (718) 430-0003
- Certified beds
- 205
- Average residents per day
- 195
- Ownership type
- For profit - Corporation
- Legal business name
- Throgs Neck Operating Co LLC
- Chain affiliation
- Excelsior Care Group (33 facilities)
- In Medicare/Medicaid since
- 1993
- CMS Certification Number (CCN)
- 335771
- Most recent standard inspection
- December 1, 2023
Location and getting there
Throgs Neck Rehabilitation & Nursing Center is located at 707 Throgs Neck Expressway, in the Throgs Neck/Schuylerville area of the Bronx (ZIP 10465). The closest subway station is Zerega Av (6), about 1.4 miles away. The nearest hospital is Montefiore Medical Center - Montefiore Westchester Square, about 1.7 miles away. Distances are straight-line estimates; confirm travel routes before visiting.
Open in Google MapsInspection record
- Inspections on record
- 5
- Total health citations
- 16
- Serious citations (harm or immediate jeopardy)
- 0
- Immediate jeopardy citations
- 0
Inspection history
| Inspection date | Type | Citations | Most serious finding | Official report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 13, 2026 | Complaint investigation | 2 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
| January 7, 2026 | Complaint investigation | 1 | Potential for harm (widespread) | View CMS report |
| December 1, 2023 | Standard health inspection | 1 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
| September 10, 2021 | Standard health inspection | 10 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
| February 22, 2019 | Standard health inspection | 2 | Potential for harm (isolated) | View CMS report |
Federal penalties
No federal fines or payment denials are listed for this facility in the CMS penalty data we compiled. Penalties are only one indicator; review the inspection reports below for cited deficiencies.
Complaints to the New York State Department of Health
- Complaints received
- 71
- Complaints per 100 beds
- 36.3
- Statewide average per 100 beds
- 57.1
- On-site complaint inspections
- 5
NYS DOH complaint data through July 31, 2026.
Owners and managers reported to CMS
| Name | Role reported to CMS |
|---|---|
| Aaron Becher | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| David Bloom | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Sandra Busell | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Alan Chopp | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Esther Farkowitz | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 7% (since 01/01/2025) |
| Larry Klein | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Joel Leifer | Direct owner (5% or greater) — 44% (since 01/01/2025) |
| Chana Lerner | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Shelly Nakdimen | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Bent Philipson | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Teresa Pocchia | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Theodore Pollak | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Michael Schwartz | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Brucha Singer | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Ronald Stern | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Naomi Tessler | Direct owner (5% or greater) — percentage not reported (since 01/01/2025) |
| Mayer Fischel | Governing body (since 01/01/2025) |
| Joel Leifer | Governing body (since 01/01/2025) |
| Andrea Brown-Whittingham | Operational/managerial control (since 02/16/2022) |
| Isaac Hersh | Operational/managerial control (since 07/22/2019) |
| Benzion Orgel | Operational/managerial control (since 12/27/2022) |
| Moshe Steinberg | Operational/managerial control (since 07/12/2019) |
| Elena Vezza | Operational/managerial control (since 03/01/2021) |
| Andrea Brown-Whittingham | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 02/16/2022) |
| Esther Farkowitz | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 12/28/2021) |
| Mayer Fischel | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 12/28/2021) |
| Isaac Hersh | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 07/22/2019) |
| Joel Leifer | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 12/28/2021) |
| Benzion Orgel | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 12/27/2022) |
| Moshe Steinberg | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 07/12/2019) |
| Elena Vezza | Administrator/director of the SNF (since 03/01/2021) |
Official reports and records
These links open official and independent records for CCN 335771. Read several inspections, not only the most recent, to see whether problems repeat.